BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

From:	Interim Head of Democratic Services	Report Number: S33
То:	Council	Date of meeting: 28 June 2016

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO JOINT GROUPS

1. Purpose of Report

1.1 At the meeting on 26 April 2016 the Council appointed Members to serve on the Council's Joint Bodies, which are not subject to Local Government Act 1972 rules.

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the political representative calculations for the bodies referred to in Paragraph 8.2 as contained in Appendix 1 be approved.
- 2.2 That the membership of the groups as detailed in Appendix 2 be approved.

3. Financial Implications

3.1 None.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 None.

5. Risk Management

5.1 This report is most closely linked with the Council's Corporate/Significant Business Risk No. 1 (Political and Managerial Leadership). Key risks are set out below:

Risk Description	Likelihood	Impact	Mitigation Measures
Members not appointed and Groups unable to function	Very low	High	Discussions already held with Group Leaders

6. Consultations

6.1 Consultations have been undertaken with the Group Leaders.

7. Equality Analysis

7.1 Partnership working will help us all to make best use of limited and scarce resources so that we best meet the needs of our communities.

8. Shared Service/Partnership Implications

8.1 The bodies identified in Appendix 2 attached have been approved by both Mid Suffolk District Council and Babergh District Council at the Council meetings held in March 2014.

9. Implications for the Joint Strategic Plan

The work of the Joint Bodies will further engage our partners so that they may influence and help to implement of the Joint Strategic Plan.

10. Key Information

- 10.1 The Council meeting on 25 March 2014 agreed to a revised Babergh and Mid Suffolk Committee Structure.
- 10.2 Included in this structure were the following bodies, which are not subject to the Local Government Act 1972 Committee rules:-

Name	Number	
JMIB	5	
Joint Housing Board	3 *	
Joint Staff Consultation Committee	3	
Joint Health and Safety Committee	4	
·	15	

^{*} Appointed for term of office.

- 10.3 The Local Government Act 1972 states that where a Local Authority is grouped for Committee composition purposes, the Authority is required to make arrangements to ensure that its Committees share the same political balance as the full Council.
- 10.4 The bodies referred to in 8.2 above fall outside the Local Government Act 1972 rules but there is general acceptance that the total amount of seats should be politically representative. The calculations for these seats are shown in Appendix 1 attached.
- 10.5 John Hinton and Stephen Williams have given notice that they intend to group as the Independent Conservative Group. The number of seats allocated to each group on the Council has therefore been recalculated
- 10.6 The Political Group Leaders have been requested to provide names to serve on these bodies. For completeness Members serving on the Shared Revenues Partnership are also shown in Appendix 2. However, as this Group also includes Ipswich Borough Council it does not form part of the calculations shown in Appendix 1.

11. Appendices

Title	Location	
Appendix 1 – Calculations	Attached	
Appendix 2 – Proposed Membership	Attached	

12. Background Documents

12.1 None.

Jeanette McGarry Tel: 01473 825891

Interim Head of Democratic Services Email: Jeanette.mcgarry@baberghmidsuffolk.gov.uk

APPENDIX 1

OTHER JOINT GROUPS

BDC CALCULATIONS						
TOTAL SEATS	PARTY	%	15 SEATS TO BE ALLOCATED	ROUND UP/DOWN		
29	CONS	67.44	10.11	10		
9	IND/LAB	20.93	3.14	3		
3	LIB/DEM	6.98	1.05	1		
2	IND CONS	4.65	0.66	1		
43		100.00	15.00	15		

^{*} Rounded up as largest remainder

K:\Governance\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2016\280616-JointGroups-App 1REVISED.docx

Joint Member Integration Board (5)

Clive Arthey Simon Barrett Sue Carpendale Jennie Jenkins Peter Patrick

Joint Housing Board* (3)

Tony Bavington Jennie Jenkins Jan Osborne

Joint Staff Consultation Committee (3)

Siân Dawson Alastair McCraw Nick Ridley

Joint Health and Safety Committee (4)

1 Independent Conservatives Margaret Maybury Jan Osborne Nick Ridley

Shared Revenues Partnership Committee ** (2)

Simon Barrett Alan Ferguson

Substitutes: Peter Burgoyne Margaret Maybury

- * Appointed for term of office
- ** Also includes Ipswich Borough Council

K:\Governance\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2016\280616-JointGroups-App 2.docx